Michigan House Republicans

State Rep. Ken Borton, joined by fellow representatives, speaks in support of his resolution to recognize April 2021 as County Government Month in Michigan, which was adopted by the House of Representatives on April 13, 2021.

Rep. Borton leads House in recognition of county governments
RELEASE|April 14, 2021
Contact: Ken Borton

April declared County Government Month in Michigan

The Michigan House of Representatives yesterday adopted a resolution introduced by state Rep. Ken Borton to recognize April as County Government Month in Michigan.

“It was my privilege to serve the people of Otsego County for 10 years as a county commissioner, including time as board chairman,” said Borton, of Gaylord. “This resolution encourages residents to recognize the hard-working elected officials and employees in each of Michigan’s 83 county governments, and the House of Representatives is leading the way in applauding these dedicated civil servants.”

Borton’s House Resolution 77 detailed many of the programs and services that county governments administer, such as record maintenance, law enforcement, elections and infrastructure repair. Counties collaborate on many projects with the state or with local governments.

“Never has the importance of county government been more apparent than in the last year, as we battled the COVID-19 pandemic,” Borton said. “County health departments have worked diligently, sometimes in the most challenging circumstances, to track cases, to publish other needed information and now to vaccinate Michigan residents. And while local health departments worked to keep communities healthy, other county officials — sheriffs, clerks, registers of deeds, road commissioners and many more — continued to provide other necessary county services.”

During his decade of service as a county commissioner, Borton actively engaged with fellow county officials from across the state through the Michigan Association of Counties, even serving as the association’s president for a time.

Borton represents the 105th House district, which includes the counties of Antrim, Charlevoix, Montmorency, Oscoda and Otsego.

Michigan House Republicans

© 2009 - 2021 Michigan House Republicans. All Rights Reserved.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.